Diary – IF

How shocking, annoying and stomach-churning is it when a sibling steals your diary?!!

I slightly varied my technique on this one – worked on constructive overall layers, instead of one layer per body part (gasp! which is what I’ve been doing.)

It needs to be perfected, but I like the feel of it. I also finished it super-fast and it gives me an easy flexibility to make finer adjustments.

Let me know what you think.

Have a great creative week, everyone!

About Susanna Porob

I love illustrating and illustrations. I enjoy seeing things from a child's perspective and giving children the eye-candy that draws them in
This entry was posted in Illustration Friday, Illustrations, Illustrations for Kids and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Diary – IF

  1. anil ks says:

    ..cute idea..so nicely done..

  2. Hey Great work Susanna, lots of movements with that strong diagonal, the hair blowing up really adds to this, wonderful overall texture and facial experssions, and the restricted tone adds a lot of harmony. The thing I find interesting is that the faces are flat (less rounded perspective) compared to the rest of the head body yet they work well as a whole.

    Must be the style I think!

    cheers

    andrew 🙂

  3. Susanna accuses me of ‘just being nice’… so I feel compelled to say some mean things here, just kidding. I thought I’d add my 2¢ though Sus.
    What I like: the concept is strong, this seemed to be a recurring theme with the female population of IF, that is to say a violation of privacy, though I seem to recall having similar arguments with my sisters about old sketch journals. Your style is amazingly consistent. Each piece you’ve posted feels like it is part of a larger idea, which is nice for someone like myself who has a hard time maintaining any specific consistency.
    What I think could improve: Composition. The image is a little sterile with the actors centered diagonally across the middle of the image I think there’s room for a little improvement in the design and placement of elements. Scale and overlap would introduce a lot of interest as would some attention to the background (couches, tables, bedroom doors or other props. Perspective always stands out as room for improvement, but I have to admit that it might be a creative choice to flatten the faces, which is fine. Doing something outside of what’s expected is a good way to generate visual interest, just make sure there’s a reason for it, so that it is adding a level for the viewer to analyze.
    I would be interested in seeing your thumbnails and/or pencils for some of your illustrations Susanna.
    I hope the helps, and I hope you have a marvelous vacation.

    • LOL! Now THAT’s more like it, David! Points noted and agreed on.
      I will indeed have a good vacation. I’m going to be living at all the art museums – which is something I’m starved for in this part of the world.
      I foresee a marked improvement in all the areas you and Andrew pointed out here and before (hopefully!)
      And definitely consider that critique-group that I was talking about. You’re good!
      Thanks!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your opinion - good or bad.

