Satellite -IF

“One night I walked home very late and fell asleep in a satellite dish…” – Steven Wright

The rest of the quote goes”…My dreams were showing up on TV’s all over the world.” I wanted to illustrate the whole quote, but knew I wouldn’t be able to finish it in time for IF. This has been an abnormally crazier-than-usual week for me.

I had seen a monstrosity like that (I’m talking about the satellite dish, not the cat!) in New Zealand. The house was perfect. The lawn looked like each blade of grass had been trimmed with a scissor.

And there – in the middle of it all – was this gigantic white dish!

Now if you have a satellite dish in your perfect garden, don’t get mad at me. I’m one of you! My husband had one installed on our balcony/terrace/lanai/gallery – whatever you call it – and I had to live with it!

That concludes my rant on satellite dishes. I loathe the things, almost as much as I loathe TV… But I still like that quote.

OK – Illustrator talk now – this was my experiment with light and shadows. Tell me what you think. Pretty please…

I’m going to clean my home now. It looks like all our wardrobes exploded!! If you don’t see me next week, assume that I’m en route to Narnia. 😉

Have a superbly creative week, y’all!!

About Susanna Porob

I love illustrating and illustrations. I enjoy seeing things from a child's perspective and giving children the eye-candy that draws them in
This entry was posted in Illustration Friday, Illustrations and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Satellite -IF

  1. Ria says:

    such a sweet cat! so oblivious to the scare his (or her) humans are suffering. 😀

  2. I really like your trees, very nice.

  3. Anna says:

    experiment with light and shadows succeeded !!! great, great work! 😀

  4. jack foster says:

    Hey Susanna! I love that quote! I wish I’d have thought of it! .. and your work certainly does it justice. The first thing I noticed was your use of light and shadows… then I read your post. Very excellent! You really captured the contrast and the diection and the way light hits and relflects. Not to mention the illustration itself…. WONDERFUL! I love it! Nice wok Susanna… one of my faves of your’s so far! Hey thanks for stopping by.

  5. nina seven says:

    nice piece, susanna! looks like a perfect place for a cat nap!

  6. Hi Susanna! Lovely visual narrative, it reads well. While your rendering is very rich, I would suggest you push the darks darker and the brighten the lights. Not to the point of chiaroscuro, but pushed more. Try going to far and then pulling it back.

    Nice work.

  7. Thank you so much, everyone!

    @David – I so appreciate the crit. I understand, and will rework this one based on what you said. Will get back to you. 🙂

What do you think? I'd love to hear your opinion - good or bad.

