Illustration Friday – Equipment

A-a-a-ACHOOOOOO! Riona Rhino pulled out her big handkerchief just in time – or did she? 😉

I’ll let the rest of the picture tell its own story.

(And hopefully it conveys that her hanky is her equipment. I hope I’m not stretching the concept too far.)

Ahem! Can you tell from the pic that my dh got me a Wacom pen and tablet? (I mean from the details… it isn’t hidden in the grass. lol)  I sooo enjoyed doing this illo without having to constantly undo everything. 🙂 Ah… bliss..

I can definitely see my portfolio falling into place sooner than I expected.

I was experimenting with movement in this illo. I wanted to answer the following questions positively:

  • Does this picture add something of value to the book?
  • Does it create mood, set tone, establish character?
  • Is the image energetic or peaceful?
  • Does it extend the mind in interesting ways beyond what is conveyed by the words on the page?
  • How does it accomplish its task?

You tell me. Do you think this illo makes the grade?

Have a great week, all!

About Susanna Porob

I love illustrating and illustrations. I enjoy seeing things from a child's perspective and giving children the eye-candy that draws them in
This entry was posted in Illustrations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Illustration Friday – Equipment

  1. Ria says:

    i can totally relate, almost anything here in dubai makes me sneeze. and i just love the details on this painting, texture adds so much to the scene. cute name too – rhiona. is this photoshop?

  2. Thanks, Ria! 🙂 PS and AI but now since I have the tablet, I may just stick to PS. Can’t wait to see your illo!

  3. roberto says:

    Very funny, i like this!!

  4. Anna says:

    cute 🙂

  5. jack foster says:

    Hey Susanna! I love your Rhino! Great detail…. looks like I’m gonna have to check out this Wacom thing. It seems to be the latest “equipment” Hey thanks for stopping by.

  6. usewswics says:

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

What do you think? I'd love to hear your opinion - good or bad.

